LILIPUTI SSC: FOLK-TALE

 

A bi-racial family poses for a picture. They are wearing matching red shirts with a Mickey Mouse head on it.

We didn’t realize Jamie had gotten sunscreen in his eyes, so poor little fella looked like he was crying! Also, I’m a big fan of hip sacks!!!

SPECS

  • MATERIAL: Canvas and 100% ORGANIC cotton
  • BODY PANAL WIDTH: 12.5 in. or 18 in. (with leg extenders)
  • BODY PANEL LENGTH: 13.5 in. (cinched all the way) or 15.5 in. (fully extended)
  • STRAPS: 1 in. thick
    • smallest setting: 22 in.
    • largest setting: 44 in.
  • SHOULDER STRAP WIDTH: 3 in. (curved shape)
  • WAISTBAND WIDTH: 5 in. at widest point (curved shape)
    • smallest setting: 34 in.
    • largest setting: 62 in.
  • BUCKLES: dual adjust
  • HOOD: yes, detachable
  • CHESTCLIP: yes
  • LEGS OUT PADDING: yes
  • SAFETY ELASTIC: yes
  • PFAs: yes
  • SEAT DARTS: yes
  • SIZE: infant into toddlerhood
  • PRICE: $125 (conversion rate from EUROS)
Selfie image of a father, mother, and toddler boy. in a soft structured carrier back carry.

Showing off that high back carry!!

****DISCLAIMER**** As of right now this carrier is NOT U.S. compliant but they are working on getting their testing approved.****

Alright yall; I’m gonna start off with some real talk. I have no idea how to pronounce this companys name. I dont know if its lily-putty or lily-poo-tea; or something else entirely!

*if you know PLEASE help a sista out and message me so I can edit this post*

What I do know, is that this carrier is super comfortable and comes with, IMO a lot of bells and whistles.

So lets get to it!!!

LILIPUTI is a European based company, manufacturing their products in Hungary.

**FUN FACT– this company sells way more than just SSC; such as babywearing coats, leather baby booties, and other accessories for you, your child, babywearing related and otherwise.**

They have a great business vision and by purchasing from them, you are supporting and helping a small family business. They have started to “…………fulfill our intention to offer parents bringing up a young child solutions which help them ensure oppurtunities providing safety for their child and themselves, strengthening contact and supporting physical and mental health in all kinds of situations.” – taken from the Liliputi website

Their soft structured carriers (SSC) and Mei Tai’s are made with organic cotton fabrics meeting the regulations of the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS).

FIRST IMPRESSIONS:

Not good at all!!

*spoiler alert– this is by far my favorite ssc to date and that is comparing against Tula, Ergo, and MadameGooGoo*

While out on our walk, you can see how the straps are right in my armpits, also this was as far up as i could get the hood. Not functional IMO for back carries and toddlers.

While out on our walk, you can see how the straps are right in my armpits, also this was as far up as i could get the hood. Not functional IMO for back carries and toddlers.

The first time I wore this I found the straps would rub right into my armpits. I also thought the hood was completely pointless. Now; I know I forgot to adjust the shoulder PFA’s, but I still think the hood is pointless.

After completely adjusting for my body I found this carrier was very comfortable and petite person friendly. It was very comfortable and cushy on my shoulders and after my initial test walk, I realized there was no “after SSC pain’ in my lower back.

 

 

HOW IT TESTED:

I found myself choosing this carrier over my other SSC time and time again. We decided to have a family fun day and spent about 3 hours at Legoland in FOLK-TALE. On Valentines Day we spent about 5 hours at the San Diego Safari Park. I also have used this almost every day since receiving it for our everyday walks and  trips to the mall.

Not only did I find this carrier comfortable but (as a petite person; 5ft and 110 lbs.) it has been difficult to find a great carrier because most SSC straps and waist belts just dont get small enough for a proper fitting. My husband(J) who is 5’10 and 190 lbs. also found this carrier to be most comfortable; and there was still plenty of room for it to get even larger.

HOW IT TESTED: FROM THE MALE PERSPECTIVE

J really enjoyed the fact that the carrier was so light weight; being as he is the self professed pack mule on most of our adventures, having to lug the carrier around during times not being worn adds a significant weight. Or rather in this case, a weightlessness factor when crammed in a backpack. This is because the LILIPUTI full buckle carrier is made of only two layers of organic cotton as the body panel, instead of multiple layers of heavy canvas and batting. It was very airy and breathable and didn’t leave J’s back into a “sweaty hot mess”. J also enjoyed the comfort of the straps; it was just the perfect amount of padding in terms of thickness and density. Another great feature J enjoyed was the chest clip. It has a great range for up and down adjustibility as well as actual chest width adjustments. One side of the chest clip is adjusted by traditional webbing and the other side uses an additional stretchy webbing. Since J is built like an upside down triangle the chest clip feature was a bonus for him.

Babywearing dad. Shown from behind at a slight angle, image shows a male carrying his toddler son in a back carry in a soft structured carrier.

Comfortable for both toddler and Dad.

Back to our regularly scheduled review…….

While FOLKTALE was in my possesion I also had the privalege to use it as it’s infant carrier option; when my friend brought over her 6 month old daughter. Not only did my friend ALSO think this carrier was super comfortable but she was really impressed by the infant insert. She normally uses another carrier with a heavy and bulky infant insert, not only making both wearer and wearee uncomfortable after long periods of time but also having them drenched in sweat!

However; with Liliputis’ fabric insert with stretchy leg holes, she found that her daughter immediately had a positive and calming reaction to this carrier and even outside in the heat was able to easily fall asleep. And while this carrier does not prevent sweat it was significantly less than her personal carrier.

Image inside a living room shows a woman wearing her 6 month old daughter in a front carry.

This mom was used to Tula’s; but found the light and airy infant insert to be much more comfortable for her and her 6 month old daughter.

 

MY RECOMMENDATION:

There are a few things I would change such as the floating elastics in some places, as I really prefer the attached elastic at the end of the extra webbing. I still find the hood to be a bit pointless, but specifically in a back carry for a toddler. I feel that this problem could be alleviated by moving the placement of the hood closer to the top part of the body panel, or allowing the hood attachment loops more space to adjust higher or lower along the shoulder straps.

The Liliputi full buckle SSC is perfect for infants and toddlers alike. With so much room to adjust not only the shoulder straps, waistband, and chest clip; but also the body panel; it really can be a perfect fit for both wearer and wearee at ANY stage of wearing!!

At $125 conversion rate from euros, that is an amazing price point for a full buckle carrier! But to me the real bonus is that it comes with the infant insert AS WELL AS the leg extenders!

I mean, c’mom….you can’t beat that!!!!

Overall, this carrier is by far my FAVORITE and I know if given the chance, many will agree me!!!

Image shows a sleeping toddler on top of the soft structured carrier. Commonly known as a a successful sleep transfer.

After a long day at Disneyland a nap is needed. And a succesful sleep transfer is a double win for this mommy!!!

Leave a Reply

